I’m A Nerd | EVERSILENT

Hola,

I have been told several times in my life that I am a nerd. And a geek. Every now and then people like to remind me just in case I had forgotten, which I’m going to pretend is considerate of them (it’s not). This probably annoys me more than it should do, and I don’t find nerds or being called a nerd offensive or bad in any way, but it’s more the principals behind it that grate on my nerves.

It still baffles me as to why people feel the need to categorise others, completely unprovoked. Worst of all, when people use words like ‘nerd’, ‘geek’ and ’emo’ in particular, they don’t even really know what they mean. So, let me get Google to help them out:

Honestly, I don’t know which category I fit into myself, or even if I am a bit of all of them. Regardless, I don’t think I’ll stop getting asked “so, you’re a nerd then?” anytime soon.

Despite all of this, I don’t blame people for coming to this conclusion. I’m academic, I love science, languages and reading and I spend a lot of my free time working or doing something educational. I’m also creative, which is why I love technology, comic books and video games. I’m introverted and very independent, I have a few close friends and prefer to stay in the shadows rather than being the center of attention.

I read Wikipedia for fun, I listen to punk music and I love watching TED Talks, Sci-Fi and documentaries. I admit these are all very ‘nerdy’ traits –  but they are also key parts of my personality.

So to conclude, I suppose I don’t blame people.

Not entirely anyway.

Besitos,

img_1398

Instagram   •   Twitter   •   Tumblr   •   Pinterest

 

Leave a Reply

