Royals – Guitar Tutorial | EVERSILENT

Hola,

Earlier this week, I learnt how to a cartwheel after many years of zero gymnastic ability. It isn’t the biggest achievement of my life, but nonetheless it reminded me that learning something new can be strangely satisfying and rewarding.

Inspired by my new skill, I have written a guitar tutorial. Playing the guitar is something I do on a daily basis, and something I am considerably better at than I am cartwheels. So, whether you are a professional guitar player or you have never touched a guitar before in your life, I am certain you can learn from this post. I’m using an electric guitar, but it will work just as well on acoustic. Here’s how to play ‘Royals’ by Lorde:

This song uses just three of the most common chords, making this song easier to play from the very beginning. They are;

DSCF1331 (2)DSCF1325 (2)DSCF1326 (2)

D                                                                           C                                                                             G

The only other thing you need to know are strumming patterns – and you can make these up to suit you. I have created three different strumming patterns, each increasing in ability. For starters, try something simple. For every chord, just strum down once. Do this until you feel happy with changing from one chord to another, and know when to transition;

                  D                     D
I've never seen a diamond in the flesh
            C                         G        
I cut my teeth on wedding rings in the movies

The second strumming pattern you can do is the most common strumming pattern. Once you learn this, you can use it for pretty much any song. For every chord, strum the pattern ‘down, down, up, up, down, up‘ (DDUUDU). It sounds complicated, but once you get that coordination, it becomes a really good pattern to use. Doing this will mean you have to transition faster between chords, so make sure you’re comfortable with the first pattern before trying this one. Start slow, and get faster as you progress;

                  D                    D
I've never seen a diamond in the flesh
            C                         G        
I cut my teeth on wedding rings in the movies

The final strumming pattern is a mix of both, with added ‘palm mutes. Palm Muting is when you ‘slap’ or ‘punch’ the strings, as shown in the photos below;

DSCF1329 (2)                       DSCF1330 (2)

These add a percussion element to the music, giving it texture and making it feel more upbeat. For the verses use the first strumming pattern with palm mutes, and for the choruses use the second strumming pattern. The ‘*‘ is a guide as to where I would palm mute, but do it where you feel it necessary;

                  D       *             D      *
I've never seen a diamond in the flesh
            C      *                   G       * 
I cut my teeth on wedding rings in the movies
            D         *                   C          *
And I'm not proud of my address - in the torn up town
             G        *
No postcode envy

And that’s it! These strumming patterns are just examples for you to change and use create your own from if you wish. Remember everyone takes different amounts of time to learn things, so you may be able to play it straight away or after a month – but keep going.

Happy playing!

D
I've never seen a diamond in the flesh
            C                         G        
I cut my teeth on wedding rings in the movies
                   D                           C
And I'm not proud of my address - in the torn up town
             G
No postcode envy

D
But every song's like: gold teeth, grey goose, trippin' in the bathroom

Blood stains, ballgowns, trashin' the hotel room
C                                           G
We don't care - we're driving Cadillacs in our dreams
                                D
But everybody's like Cristal, Mayback, diamonds on your timepiece

Jet planes, islands, tigers on a gold leash
C                                      G
We don't care - we  aren't caught up in your love affair


                          D
And we'll never be royals - It don't run in our blood
                 C
That kind of lux just ain't for us
                 G
We crave a different kind of buzz
                      D
Let me be your ruler - you can call me Queen Bee
                  C
And baby I'll rule, I'll rule, I'll rule, I'll rule
G                  D
Let me live that fantasy


D
My friends and I we've cracked the code
                  C                     G
We count our dollars on the train to the party
              D                                      C
And everyone who knows us knows that we're fine with this
                    G
We didn't come from money


D
But every song's like: gold teeth, grey goose, trippin' in the bathroom

Blood stains, ballgowns, trashin' the hotel room
C                                           G
We don't care - we're driving Cadillacs in our dreams
                                D
But everybody's like Cristal, Mayback, diamonds on your timepiece

Jet planes, islands, tigers on a gold leash
C                                      G
We don't care - we  aren't caught up in your love affair

 
                           D
And we'll never be royals - It don't run in our blood
                 C
That kind of lux just ain't for us
                 G
We crave a different kind of buzz
                      D
Let me be your ruler - you can call me Queen Bee
                  C
And baby I'll rule, I'll rule, I'll rule, I'll rule
G                 D
Let me live that fantasy


D
oh ooh oh ohh
         C                                 
We're bigger than we ever dreamed
               G
And I'm in love with being queen (king)
D
oh ooh oh ohh
C
Life's a game without a care
              G
We aren't caught up in your love affair


                          D
And we'll never be royals - It don't run in our blood
                 C
That kind of lux just ain't for us
                 G
We crave a different kind of buzz
                      D
Let me be your ruler - you can call me Queen Bee
                  C
And baby I'll rule, I'll rule, I'll rule, I'll rule
G                            D
Let me live that fantasy
signtr
Leave a Reply

